Life Update

IMG_1018.JPG

Getting the Keys

After two rough weeks, my two friends and I finally found an apartment in Los Angeles! We have been living in there for the past week with very minimal furniture, clothing, food, etc. This particular apartment was one that we immediately fell in love with, and we were SO excited when we got the call that it was all ours! It definitely was not an easy process, and we are still living day by day to work things out, but I think that there is beauty within the struggle, which makes the journey with it.

With being young adults with little to no credit many properties turned us away. It was near to impossible to find a place to give us a chance. My one roommate’s father was kind enough to help us search and lock one in, and I am forever grateful. Sometimes things are harder than you expect, and having an older/wiser person help, really makes it all come together.

The best advice I would have for someone who feels discouraged about accomplishing something… is just do not give up. Success does not happen over night, and my experience so far speaks for itself. Now that I have an apartment, things are a bit easier but that does not mean all of my problems have gone away. As I patiently wait for the majority of my items from Pennsylvania to be shipped, I continue to sleep on an air mattress, using a mini fridge as a cooler with ice (shout out to Craig’s List for selling us a broken one!!) and living with the bare minimum. Not everything is sunshine and butterflies, but I try to keep a positive attitude through it all. These little struggles are things I will look back on and be thankful for, and maybe laugh a little!

So… keep pushing, and believe in yourself. Create a support system who believes in you as well. Sometimes it is very hard to not compare your success to others. So if you ever catch yourself feeling discouraged while comparing yourself, change that discouragement as motivation to get to the next level that will help you achieve your dreams.

img_1040

Job Search

Another struggle to touch on. Some days I think, wow it would have been so much easier if I had a job lined up for me out here. But then other days I think, but I am in a position where I have my options 100% open… This is my opportunity to try something new. I have completed countless applications, went to interviews, etc. The most important thing to me is to represent myself the best that I can, and get my name out there. In turn, I am hoping that the universe will answer my request and something great will come my way if I keep up the hard work.

I recently received a very exciting opportunity to try something new, and as much as it makes me nervous, it could be a great opportunity to learn and create. I didn’t move across the country to stay in my comfort zone. So I figure… why not go for it and give it my all.

Living Life

As simple as it is, I feel as though I haven’t been able to enjoy California to the extent that I would like to. I guess I am just constantly occupied with worries like getting furniture, finding a job, changing my address, getting a car, etc. This past week, after finally getting the apartment keys, I feel as though I got to relax a tiny bit. (Even though when one worry went away, more came into its place.) I celebrated my 21st birthday on February 12th and it was definitely a memory to remember forever! It you would have told me a couple years ago that I would be living in Los Angeles for my 21st birthday, I probably would have thought you were joking. But, it happened, and it was great. I feel so grateful for the support system I have near and far, who believe in me and want me to be happy with what I am accomplishing out here.

Enjoying every step of the journey is something that seems so simple, yet can be challenging. It is something that I am trying to become better at. Appreciating where I am now, while working towards where I want to be in the future. So far 2017 has turned my life upside down in more ways than one, but I wouldn’t change a thing. I hope that everyone is enjoying their year so far and remember that it is never too late to change your life.  ❤

 

2 thoughts on “Life Update

Leave a Reply

