Rainy Travel Days

First of all, hello from Los Angeles, California!! It feels so weird saying that, but I am very excited to be here. I am safe and sound after the crazy travel day I had yesterday. Basically just all rain delays on rain delays on rain delays…. That is how my travel day went. With a big (mainly rain) storm in the east coast, it resulted in hour delays. And in some other cases, even cancelled flights. One man even said he was at the airport for almost more than 24 hours trying to get back home… Yikes!

fullsizeoutput_25f

Yesterday I traveled from Philadelphia International Airport to Los Angeles International Airport, with one connecting flight at the John F. Kennedy International Airport. My first flight was supposed to be at 1:15pm EST and it ended up being pushed back to about 4pm EST. As it got pushed back hour by hour, my friends and I grew worried about missing our connecting flight. So, we did end up having to change our flight which thankfully the Delta workers were more than helpful because those types of things can be a real headache when you have no idea what to do!

The flight from Philly to JFK was, to say the least, BUMPY. We were on a smaller aircraft, which I had never been on before in the USA, while also traveling in the middle of a storm. There was turbulence pretty much for the entire duration of the 35 minute flight (what a silly, almost pointless flight.) My day of travel got completely flip-flopped. We arrived at the airport at 10:30am, and after all the travel and delays we finally landed in LA at 12:30am EST. You could say that I slept very well after all of the travel chaos!

I am very thankful to have landed safe and sound, especially after flying through a storm that was testing the airplane’s limits. It was all smooth sailing all together, but with lots of time to kill. Sometimes I almost don’t know what to do with all that time just waiting around, so I created a list of a few of my favorite things to do to pass time on travel days, to hopefully help someone!

Read a good book

I typically like to start a new book when I am on a new adventure. There is just something about new beginnings and journeys make a great time for your mind to dive into more new things.

Watch a movie

If this is available on your flight, take advantage! Or if you have Netflix, go ahead and download your favorite show(s) or movie(s) to your phone, laptop, or tablet ahead of time so you can watch it on your device on airplane mode.

Write in a journal

I specifically love this to express any type of feeling or thought, and spilling it all on paper. It is a really good little thing to do if you get anxious on trips, because it may help you focus on your thoughts and hopefully it can help you destress a bit.

Listen to music

My favorite thing to do is creating different playlists for different trips, times of the year, experiences. So that when you hear them in the future, you think of those particular times, very nostalgic.

Talk

Pretty self explanatory.. But just think of how many people are in the airport or train station or bus station that you are at… SO MANY. I love to chat with random people at the airport and get to know a little bit about them. Aren’t you curious how you all came to the same place at the same point in time? Woah.

What are your favorite things to do while passing time on travel days?

Follow me on Instagram if you would like to see frequent updates!

@jenny.mahoney

4 thoughts on “Rainy Travel Days

  1. A Hearty Nomad says:

    I started to do Macrame,it’s actually fun and relaxing but your neck will be a bit stiff after some time. Something different to reading, writing and watching Sth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

