5 Tips for a Productive Morning

Oh the daily morning grind… We all experience it a little different, but we all know how it feels. Some mornings are a breeze while others are just… sluggish. Below are 5 tips for a productive morning to set yourself up for a successful day. These 5 work best for me, what are some that you find the most helpful?

1. Set an Alarm

Although this is simple, and the majority of people do it, I find it the most important if you want to be the most productive. Set the alarm for the same time each morning, no matter the time you fall asleep. This way you are setting yourself up for the day, and your body will create a natural routine.

Another idea is creating an alarm that you don’t absolutely hate hearing. That way when you wake up, you may not want to throw it across the room. Train your brain to not dread waking up/waking up early.

2. Just Get Up

Many times while waking up I think to myself ‘oh just a couple more minutes,’ ‘I don’t really have to get up this early,’ and honestly dreading waking up. Because, well, resting feels so good! But I have found that the times that I prolong my morning routine, my productivity level is at an all time low for the rest of the day

So, just. Get. Up. Before you let your mind race and think of your daily worries, get up.

3. Create a Routine

For me this is one of the most important steps. By creating a daily morning routine, you are able to go through the motions without much thought (which is awesome if you are one of those morning zombies.) There are no rules to morning routines, so do what works for you.

My morning routine looks like this: getting up, brushing my teeth, washing my face, drinking water, making my bed, doing an easy 10 minute work out, make breakfast, and then treating myself with my favorite coffee. Because, in my opinion, coffee is one of the best parts of my day!

4. Resist Technology Consumption

This is a big one. Of course it is challenging if you do most of your work with technology, or if you simply have a habit of looking through social media right as you wake up. Resisting the urge of getting lost in technology first thing in the morning is easier for some people, others not so much. If you work from home, setting a specific time for you to check everything is a great way to give yourself personal time before you dive into work. For example, if you wake up at 6am every day, don’t let yourself check your email, go on social media, or do anything with technology that will consume your morning time until 8am.

5. Make a To Do List

Whether it is in the morning, or the night before, making a to do list will help you stay on track. I write my to do list in my planner so that I have everything in one place: my day to day schedule and also a daily to do list. Getting your thoughts out on paper will also help you remember to do those things!

3 thoughts on “5 Tips for a Productive Morning

  1. radgirlclassifieds says:

    This is great! I love these tips and they’ll definitely help with making my morning more productive! I love your blog and can’t wait to read more from you. I would love if you’d check my blog out, thanks!

    Like

  2. A Hearty Nomad says:

    Until I did not have my coffee I won’t use my phone. It feels great and also if I leave the house to just go for a walk. Feels even better!

    Like

Leave a Reply

