Winter Style: Classy and Sassy

This winter I am challenging myself to refrain from purchasing clothing and to really get use out of what is already in my wardrobe. Although this may be simple for others, for me it is a bit hard! Especially since I work at a woman’s clothing boutique, I am always tempted to purchase new and trendy pieces. Aside from that, I am all about versatility and mixing anything and everything together. So whether it is a hand-me-down from my two older sisters, brand new from the store, thrifted, or even handmade, I love to pair it all together. For this look I searched my closet for things that really screamed winter to me. Some items I purchased a couple months ago while others were purchased over five years ago. I also wanted to show that in a world of trends constantly changing, no one should have to feel pressured to always buy new clothing all the time. Find the items in your wardrobe that make you feel comfortable and the best YOU, utilize the things that you have, and get inspired!

This winter look is classy and simple but at the same time bold and sassy. The rips in the jeans, faux snakeskin heels, studded purse, and vibrant red in the scarf (and my lip color!) turn this classic look to the edgy side.

img_9588

Outfit Details…..

The Jacket

This jacket is probably 5+ years old! It was a hand-me-down from my oldest sister (thanks sis!) This military-style peacoat from Forever 21 is still very structured even after the wear and tear. I especially love that it ties at the waist to give more shape to the body than a regular peacoat.

The Sweater

I purchased this sweater in Ecuador while I was on my foreign exchange trip in 2015. The town I purchased it in is actually known for producing and selling clothing locally. (I forget the town name arg!) I find that it is the perfect black, chunky sweater for the wintertime. It was a great layering piece for this sassy look, while it can also be worn super casual as well. Whenever I put this on it reminds me of great memories, and I love it for that.

The Jeans

Although you can really purchase ones like these almost anywhere now, I got mine in summer of this year at francesca’s. They seemed to fit me better than any others I have tried in other stores. I love the simplicity of these!

The Shoes

If you know me, I love shoes. Especially high heels, although I do not always find the right time to wear them! These ones I purchased at Target in 2014 but they probably have a similar style year round. The pointed toe and faux snake skin detail give me bold vibes.

The Scarf

I have actually fallen asleep with this scarf on before, no lie. It is fuzzy and adorable. I love plaid anything, but in the winter this scarf is my absolute go to. I normally wear it fairly casual but with this look I knew I wanted to play it up! I purchased it in 2015 from a local boutique called Nich Boutique.

The Purse

Oh good ole’ Primark… This cross-body purse cost me probably $8. (Whaaaat?) Yep. Now it is not great quality, but the price is absolutely right, and it serves its purpose! I gravitate towards this purse for really any occasion, especially this look for the iconic studding and little tassel.

The Lip Color

There is just something about a classic red lip… I used a Maybelline lip liner in 50 Red and then on top of that the ColourPop Ultra Matte Liquid Lipstick in Creeper.

img_9592

img_9604

img_9605

img_9582

3 thoughts on “Winter Style: Classy and Sassy

Leave a Reply

