The Comeback of Jojo

For any of you who may forgot who she is, take a second and listen to the song Leave, Get Out and I am positive you will remember! But for any of you who do not know her, she is a 25 year old pop/r&b singer-songwriter/actress who made her breakthrough in the music industry in 2004 with her pop single Leave, Get Out when she was only 13 years old. With  this song she became the youngest recording artist to reach #1 on Billboard’s Top 40 chart. Her self-titled album containing her debut single was a huge success which then lead to releasing a second album in 2006 called The High Road containing another hit single Too Little, Too Late. Also, I can’t forget to mention that you may remember her from the movies RV and Aquamarine. But don’t get it twisted, this girl and her talent goes far beyond those projects.

jojo-album-1

Jojo’s self-titled debut album released in 2004.

I distinctly remember the summer her first ever single came out, I must have been 8 or 9 years old. At that age none of her lyrics pertained to my life at all but it didn’t stop me from having her music on repeat. Her voice was so strong and intriguing, and I loved that her music was a mix of pop and r&b, with a little bit of soul. I remember watching her music videos thinking ‘wow she is only a couple years older than I and she is has such a powerful personality and voice.’ For a very long time growing up I idolized her and her career at such a young age. To this day I still have physical copies of her two albums and every now and then I listen to them to bring back those memories/inspired emotions. (Side note, if anyone would like to play karaoke to these albums, let me know.)

Some time after her second album was released she pretty much fell of the face of the music world, or that is how it seemed to me. I didn’t hear anything for years, but then again I didn’t really look up what happened. That all changed about a year ago when she released an EP featuring a new radio hit When Love Hurts. I remember seeing this song pop up on youtube’s recommended videos and I could not believe it. Not only was I super excited, I was also very confused. Where did she go for so long?

I then had to do my research and dig deep to see what happened, and where she went. From what I understood, after her two albums there were changes of ownership and and rules within her recording label which lead to a falling-out in their relationship. This record label was a signed seven year contract, but the label did not accept Jojo’s multiple attempts at presenting new music. In 2013 she filed for a law suit to free herself from the contract that had her career on hold. And now ladies and gentlemen, she had returned for good with Atlantic Records. She is back, and in my opinion, better than ever.

To say the least, the 9 year old me is screaming her head off right now. The 20 year old me is too, and currently  listening to her old music in celebration of this new album that will be releasing in a little over a week. She already has three songs off that album released: Mad Love, FAB, and F*** Apologies. You can tell that her vocals ha

jojo-mad-love

Jojo’s third album Mad Love is set to release October 14th, 2016.

ve really matured and that she has spent time perfecting them. Her voice has always been strong, but she has taken it to another level. So far I am SUUUUPER impressed with her new music, and cannot wait to hear the rest of it.

As for now, I definitely suggest listening to the available songs off of Mad Love, which officially releases on October 14th of this year. So Jojo…. After 10 years of waiting, we are ready. It is never ‘Too Little Too Late’ to have your comeback.

Leave a Reply

